• Home
  • Resources
  • KU Communicators

KU Communicators

The KU News Service is available to answer media inquiries on a range of topics, and you can contact its staff members here. If you have a question for a specific KU department, start by reaching out to the contacts listed below. To make changes to a listing please e-mail Emma Cornish.

Academic Accelerator Program

Roberta Pokphanh, Academic Director
(785) 864-6002 | pokphanh@ku.edu

Austin Habash, Marketing Coordinator
(785) 864-1256 | austin.habash@ku.edu

Admissions

Christi Delaroy, Assistant Director for Communications
(785) 864-2584 | cdelaroy@ku.edu

Lisa Pinamonti Kress, Director
(785) 864-5421 | lpkress@ku.edu

Heidi Simon, Associate Director
(785) 864-5448 | hsimon@ku.edu

Alumni Association

Heather Biele, Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-4767 | hbiele@kualumni.org

Debbi Johanning, Digital Media Content Manager
(785) 864-1329 | djohanning@kualumni.org

David Johnston, Vice President of Marketing & Internet Services
(785) 864-4760 | davidjohnston@kualumni.org

Chris Lazzarino, Associate Editor
(785) 864-4760 | clazz@ku.edu

Jennifer Sanner, Senior VP Communications
(785) 864-4760 | jjsanner@kualumni.org

Kara Schwerdt, Digital Media & Marketing Coodinator
(785) 864-4760 | karaschwerdt@kualumni.org

Dan Storey, Staff Photographer & Videographer
(785) 864-4760 | dstorey@kualumni.org

Susan Younger, Creative Director
(785) 864-4760 | syounger@kualumni.org

Ambler Student Recreation Fitness Center

Rebecca Goering, Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-1374 | rgoering@ku.edu

Architecture, Design & Planning, School of

Charles Linn, Director of Communications
(785) 864-4336 | cdlinn@ku.edu

Athletics

Todd Kober, Associate Athletic Director, Creative Services
(785) 864-7867 | tkober@ku.edu

James Marchiony, Associate Athletic Director
(785) 864-3359 | jmarch@ku.edu

Audio-Reader

Feloniz Winston, Development Assistant
(785) 864-5336 | fwinston@ku.edu

Business, School of

Michael Brock, Video Producer
(785) 864-3852 | mike88@ku.edu

Lauren Cunningham, Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-9540 | lcunningham@ku.edu

Center for East Asian Studies

Megan Phelps, Program Assistant
(785) 864-1457 | mephelps@ku.edu

Center for Environmentally Beneficial Catalysis

Claudia Bode, Educational Coordinator
(785) 864-1647 | bode@ku.edu

Center for Online & Distance Learning

Julie Loats, Director
(785) 864-4459 | jmloats@ku.edu

Chihsun Chiu, Instructional Designer
(785) 864-1000 | cchiu@ku.edu

Center for Remote Sensing of Ice Sheets (CReSIS)

Jackie St. Aubyn, Office Assistant
(785) 864-7776 | jackie57@cresis.ku.edu

Center for Research on Learning

Ramsey Cox, Communications Assistant/Videographer
(785) 864-4780 | ramseyc@ku.edu

Julie Tollefson, Project Coordinator
(785) 864-0624 | jtollefson@ku.edu

Center for Science, Technology & Economic Policy

Genna Hurd, Research Associate
(785) 864-4618 | ghurd@ku.edu

Center for Service Learning

Amanda Schwegler, Assistant Director
(785) 864-0960 | aschwegs@ku.edu

Center for STEM Learning

Steven Case, Director
(785) 864-4471 | stcase@ku.edu

Center for Sustainability

Kari Cantarero, Outreach Coordinator
(785) 864-5398 | kari.cantarero@ku.edu

Kim Criner, Education & Outreach Coordinator
(785) 864-5804 | k540c157@ku.edu

Jeffrey Severin, Director
(785) 864-5804 | jseverin@ku.edu

Center for Teaching Excellence

Judith Eddy, Program Assistant
(785) 864-4100 | jeddy@ku.edu

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Heather Anderson, Communications & Marketing Coordinator
(785) 864-3667 | handers@ku.edu

Jessica Beeson, Director of Strategic Research Initiatives
(785) 864-1767 | eliasb@ku.edu

Josh DeBoer, Student Recruiter
(785) 864-1292 | jddeboer@ku.edu

Kristi Henderson, Director of Communications
(785) 864-3663 | khenderson@ku.edu

Samantha Montague, Online Program Coordinator
(785) 864-1292 | smontag@ku.edu

Charles Neiss, Associate Director of Alumni & Student Engagement
(785) 864-4815 | charles@ku.edu

Confucius Institute

Kevin Liu, Associate Director
(913) 897-8687 | gkliu@ku.edu

Continuing Education

Sharon Graham, Executive Director
(913) 897-8799 | sgraham@ku.edu

Carolyn McKnight, Director of Community Engagement and Business Development, Interim Marketing Director
(913) 897-8721 | mcknight@ku.edu

Eric Buselt, Marketing Coordinator
(913) 897-8713 | ebuselt@ku.edu

Cami Travis-Groves, Senior Graphic Designer
(913) 897-8791 | camiimac@ku.edu

Lori Klaudt, Distribution Center Manager
(785) 864-7846 | loriklaudt@ku.edu

Malcolm Neelley, Graphics Specialist
(913) 897-8749 | mneelley@ku.edu

Steven Yeakly, Administrative Specialist
(785) 864-7870 | syeakly@ku.edu

Dole Institute of Politics

Makayla Hipke, Marketing and Events Coordinator
(785) 864-1156 | mhipke@ku.edu

Margaret Mahoney, Assistant to the Director
(785) 864-1418 | mahoney@ku.edu

Education, School of

Janelle Laudick, Marketing/Recruitment Coordinator
(785) 864-3758 | laudickjm@ku.edu

Paula Naughtin, Program Assistant
(785) 864-3758 | pnaught@ku.edu

Edwards Campus

Christine Falk, Marketing Manager
(913) 897-8548 | cfalk@ku.edu

Chris Gregory, Director of Marketing and Public Relations
(913) 897-8611 | cgregory@ku.edu

Brian Schneweis, Manager of Student Communications
(913) 897-8595 | bschneweis@ku.edu

Emily Taylor Center for Women & Gender Equity

Kathy Rose-Mockry, Director
(785) 864-3558 | krosemockry@ku.edu

Engineering, School of

Cody Howard, Public Relations Director
(785) 864-2934 | codyh@ku.edu

Enrollment Management

Matt Melvin, Associate Vice Provost for Recruitment & Enrollment
(785) 864-4060 | mattmelvin@ku.edu

Financial Aid & Scholarships

Stephanie Covington, Associate Director
(785) 864-5118 | scov@ku.edu

Brenda Maigaard, Director
(785) 864-5491 | bmaigaard@ku.edu

Gail Sherron, Associate Director
(785) 864-5418 | gsherron@ku.edu

First-Year Experience

Sarah Crawford-Parker, Assistant Vice Provost, Director
(785) 864-4865 | scrawpar@ku.edu

Howard Graham, Associate Director, Academic Programs
(785) 864-4277 | hgraham@ku.edu

Heidi Hulse, Outreach Coordinator
(785) 864-4270 | hhulse@ku.edu

Christina Kerns, Program Coordinator, Transition
(785) 864-4250 | ckerns@ku.edu

Katie Treadwell, Associate Director, Orientation
(785) 864-5429 | katie.treadwell@ku.edu

Graduate Studies

Amanda Ostreko, Assistant Dean
(785) 864-8040 | amandao@ku.edu

Hall Center for the Humanities

Samantha Bishop Simmons, Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-4798 | sabsim86@ku.edu

Health Professions, School of

Terry Erisman, Designer
(913) 588-4411 | terisman@kumc.edu

Hilltop Child Development Center

Jeremy Fite, Executive Director
(785) 864-1526 | jfite@ku.edu

Housing Office Administration

Jan Nitcher, Graphics Specialist
(785) 864-7154 | jann@ku.edu

Katharine Weickert, Marketing Coordinator
(785) 864-7223 | mkatharine@ku.edu

Information Center and DeBruce Center

Curtis Marsh, Program Director
(785) 864-3200 | cmarsh@ku.edu

Information Technology

David Day, Director of IT External Affairs
(785) 864-0236 | davidday@ku.edu

Matthew Garrett, Manager - Web Development & Interface Design
(785) 864-0469 | mattg@ku.edu

J.D. Warnock, Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-0206 | jdwarnock@ku.edu

Institute for Policy & Social Research

Genna Hurd, Associate Researcher
(785) 864-4618 | ghurd@ku.edu

Susan Mercer, Associate Director
(785) 864-9102 | smercer@ku.edu

Natalie Parker, Project Coordinator
785-864-3701 | ncparker@ku.edu

International Programs

Alison Watkins, Communications Director
(785) 864-4963 | awatkins@ku.edu

International Recruitment and Undergraduate Admissions

Seth Coulter, Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-2578 | sethcoul@ku.edu

Journalism & Mass Communications, School of

Julie Adam, Director of Communications
(785) 864-7644 | julieadam@ku.edu

Ashley Anguiano, Recruitment and Retention Coordinator
(785) 864-4768 | aanguiano@ku.edu

Kansas Biological Survey

Kirsten Bosnak, Communications Director
(785) 864-6267 | moonfarm@ku.edu

Kansas Geological Survey

Cathy Evans, Writer/Editor
(785) 864-2195 | cevans@kgs.ku.edu

Kansas Public Radio

Dan Skinner, Director
(785) 864-4603 | dskinner@ku.edu

Joanna Fewins, Development Associate/Design Manager
(785) 864-4530 | jobeth@ku.edu

Phillip Wilke, Media Manager
(785) 864-5016 | pwilke@ku.edu

KU Endowment

Rosita Elizalde-McCoy, Senior VP for Communications
(785) 832-7336 | rmccoy@kuendowment.org

Valerie Gieler, Publications Manager
(785) 832-7347 | vgieler@kuendowment.org

Rachel Vague, Graphic Designer
(785) 832-7338 | rvague@kuendowment.org

Sarah Meiers, Senior Art Director
(785) 832-7449 | smeiers@kuendowment.org 

Victoria Sickinger, Web and Social Media Editor
(785) 832-7358 | vsickinger@kuendowment.org

Lisa Scheller, Proposal Manager
(785) 832-7398 | lscheller@kuendowment.org

Michelle Tevis, Media Relations Editor
(785) 832-7363 | mtevis@kuendowment.org

Brooke Unruh, Communications Coordinator
(785) 832-7478 | BUnruh@kuendowment.org

Jennifer Walker, Senior Graphic Designer
(785) 832-7413 | jwalker@kuendowment.org

KU Libraries

Courtney Foat, Assistant Director of Communications & Advancement
(785) 864-0970 | cfoat@ku.edu

Jennifer Muse, Event Coordinator
(785) 864-8961 | jmuse@ku.edu

Meggie Mapes, Communications Specialist
(785) 864-3916 | meggiemapes@ku.edu

LeAnn Meyer, Communication Coordinator
(785) 864-4811 | leannmeyer@ku.edu

Nikki Pirch, Graphic Designer
(785) 864-0530 | nikkipirch@ku.edu

Rebecca Smith, Executive Director of Communications & Advancement
(785) 864-1761 | rasmith@ku.edu

KU Medical Center

Carrie Brown, Associate Director of Communications
(913) 588-5412 | cbrown17@kumc.edu

Kay Hawes, Associate Director of News and Media Relations
(913) 588-5298 | khawes@kumc.edu

Natalie Lutz, Director of Communications
(913) 588-1872 | nlutz3@kumc.edu

Rachel Caldwell Mullins, Digital Communications Manager
(913) 588-1872 | rcaldwellmullins@kumc.edu

Donna Peck, Assistant Communications Director
(913) 588-5956 | dpeck@kumc.edu

Greg Peters, Communications Coordinator
(913) 588-5563 | gpeters3@kumc.edu

Michael Pommier, Senior Coordinator for Marketing, Area Health Education Center
(620) 235-4040 | rpommier@kumc.edu

KU News Service

Erinn Barcomb-Peterson, Director
(785) 864-8858 | ebp@ku.edu

George Diepenbrock, Public Affairs Officer
(785) 864-8853 | gdiepenbrock@ku.edu

Mike Krings, Public Affairs Officer
(785) 864-8860 | mkrings@ku.edu

Christy Little, Assistant Director
(785) 864-8856 | christylittle@ku.edu

Brendan Lynch, Public Affairs Officer
(785) 864-8855 | blynch@ku.edu

KU School of Medicine-Wichita

Jennifer Eaton, Senior Public Affairs Coordinator
(316) 293-3534 | jeaton2@kumc.edu

Jennica King, Senior Communications Coordinator
(316) 293-3535 | jking11@kumc.edu

Law, School of

Crystal Mai, Associate Dean
(785) 864-9208 | cmai@ku.edu

Mindie Paget, Director of Communications & Marketing
(785) 864 9205 | mpaget@ku.edu

Emily Sharp, Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-2388 | emily.sharp@ku.edu

Noelle Uhler, Director of External Relations
(785) 864-9281 | nuhler@ku.edu

Legal Services for Students

Jo Hardesty, Director
(785) 864-5665 | hardesty@ku.edu

Lied Center

Michele Berendsen, Marketing Communications Director
(785) 864-2722 | mberendsen@ku.edu

Brad Knauss, Marketing Director
(785) 864-3472 | bradk@ku.edu

Anthea Scouffas, Education Director
(785) 864-2795 | anthea@ku.edu

Shala Stevenson, Marketing Art Director
(785) 864-3526 | sstevenson@ku.edu

Life Span Institute

Karen Salisbury Henry, Associate Director for Communications
(785) 864-0756 | kahenry@ku.edu

Chris Lorenzen, Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-4680 | lorenzen@ku.edu

Drew Rosdahl, User Experience Designer
(785) 864-0697 | rosdahl@ku.edu

Marketing Communications

Melody Alexander, Associate Creative Director
(785) 864-8875 | melodyalexander@ku.edu

Frank Barthell, Video Producer
(785) 864-8904 | fbart@ku.edu

Todd Beauford, Account Executive
(785) 864-6351 | tbeauford@ku.edu

Carol DiVilbiss, Project/Traffic Manager
(785) 864-7682 | carold@ku.edu

Lauren Erickson, Associate Director, Account Management
(785) 864-1725 | laurene@ku.edu

Debra Graber, Associate Director, Editorial
(785) 864-8874 | debg@ku.edu

Patrick Giroux, Art Director
(785) 864-8876 | patrickgiroux@ku.edu

Dave Gnojek, Art Director
(785) 864-8869 | dgnojek@ku.edu

Kelsy Hamilton, Administrative Assistant
(785) 864-3256 | khamilton@ku.edu

Justin Henning, Associate Director, Interactive Media
(785) 864-8857 | jjhenning@ku.edu

Gerald Holland, Director
(785) 864-8879 | gerald_holland@ku.edu

Audra Kenton, Associate Creative Director
(785) 864-8879 | akenton@ku.edu

Doug Koch, Digital Asset Coordinator
(785) 864-8861 | dmkoch@ku.edu

Meg Kumin, Photographer
(785) 864-8862 | megkumin@ku.edu

Katie McCurry, Digital Strategist
(785) 864-4754 | kmccurry@ku.edu

Andrew Lee, Video Editor
(785) 864-6353 | andrew.lee@ku.edu

Elizabeth Perry, Copywriter
(785) 864-8866| elizabethperry@ku.edu

Justin Runge, Copywriter
(785) 864-8864 | justinrunge@ku.edu

Lois Sierra, Editor
(785) 864-8873 | lsierra@ku.edu

Tim Seley, Associate Director, Digital Media
(785) 864-8871 | timseley@ku.edu

Andy White, Photographer
(785) 864-1129 | andyo53@ku.edu

Memorial Unions

Lauren Haskin, Marketing Coordinator
(785) 864-6047 | lmhaskin@ku.edu

Lisa Kring, Event Services Director
(785) 864-2420 | lkring@ku.edu

Keith Lake, Manager, The Market
(785) 864-2412 | kalake@ku.edu

Sharon Leatherman, Event Services Manager
(785) 864-2418 | sleatherman@ku.edu

Aman Reaka, Senior Graphic Designer
(785) 864-9480 | a625r272@ku.edu

Donna Santaularia, Marketing Assistant
(785) 864-4842 | dsantaularia@ku.edu

Museum of Natural History and Biodiversity Institute

Jen Humphrey, Coordinator
(785) 864-2344 | jenlynnh@ku.edu

Kitty Steffens, Visitor Services and Events Coordinator
(785) 864-2380 | k257s217@ku.edu

Music, School of

Meghan Spreer, Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-9742 | meghanspreer@ku.edu

Nursing, School of

Jennifer Keeton, Special Projects Coordinator
(913) 588-3319 | jkeeton@kumc.edu

Parking & Transit

Margretta de Vries, Web Designer
(785) 864-7275 | mdevries@ku.edu

Pharmacy, School of

Anna Hagen, Coordinator
(785) 864-4822 | hagena@ku.edu

Will Hopkins, Web Developer
(785) 864-3893 | whopkins@ku.edu

Jackie Hosey, Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-3591 | jhosey@ku.edu

Gene Hotchkiss, Associate Dean
(785) 864-3591 | ghotchkiss@ku.edu

Provost's Office

Jill Hummels, Communications Manager
(785) 864-6577 | jhummels@ku.edu

Michael Wade Smith, Executive Director of Marketing & Advancement
(785) 864-8134 | mws@ku.edu

Public Affairs, Office of

Wendy Bridges, Analyst
(785) 864-4186 | wbridges@ku.edu

Tim Caboni, Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs
(785) 864-7100 | caboni@ku.edu

Emma Cornish, Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs
(785) 864-7100 | ecornish@ku.edu

Andy Hyland, Associate Director of Strategic Communications
(785) 864-2979 | ahyland@ku.edu

Joe Monaco, Director of Strategic Communications
(785) 864-7100 | jmonaco@ku.edu

Charlie Persinger, Director of University Event Management & Protocol
(785) 864-7103 | cpersinger@ku.edu

Public Affairs & Administration, School of

Alecia Gray, Public Relations Manager
(785) 864-2554 | agray@ku.edu

Angie Soden, Communications Specialist
(785) 864-9090 | angiesoden@ku.edu

Public Safety Office

James Anguiano, University Police Captain
(785) 864-5900 | janguiano@ku.edu

Ralph N. Adams Institute for Bioanalytical Chemistry

Gary Webber, Program Assistant
(785) 864-2342 | gwebber@ku.edu

Research, Office of

Christine Fosher, Executive Assistant
(785) 864-7237 | fosher@ku.edu

Mary Ann Roesner, Web Manager, Research Information Systems
(785) 864-7242 | maroesner@ku.edu

Research & Training Center on Independent Living (RTC/IL)

Val Alexander Renault, Material Development and Information Coordinator
(785) 864-0575 | vrenault@ku.edu

Self Graduate Fellowship Program

Amy Benoit-Warlick, Recruitment Coordinator
(785) 864-7238 | abw@ku.edu

Stefani Buchwitz, Program Manager
(785) 864-3174 | buchwitz@ku.edu

Social Welfare, School of

Valerie Hawley, Marketing and Communications Director
(785) 864-3804 | vhawley@ku.edu

Spencer Museum of Art

Margaret Perkins-McGuinness, Director of External Affairs
(785) 864-0141 | mpm@ku.edu

Tristan Telander, Graphic Designer
(785) 864-0133 | tristantelander@ku.edu

Ryan Waggoner, Staff Photographer
(785) 864-0152 | Wag44@ku.edu

Student Involvement & Leadership Center

Dustin Struble, Assistant Director of SILC-Greek Life
(785) 864-4861 | dustin.b.struble@ku.edu

Student Veteran Center

April Blackmon Strange, Director
(785) 864-6715 | ablackmon@ku.edu

Tertiary Oil Recovery Project

Jeremy Viscomi, Director of Technology Transfer
(785) 864-7396 | jviscomi@ku.edu

The Achievement and Assessment Institute

Lisa McBride, Editor-in-Chief
(785) 864-6187 | lmcbride@ku.edu

Hilary Cook-Borg, Graphic Designer
(785) 864-4831 | hilary1@ku.edu

Laura Kingston, Social Media Coordinator
(785) 864-1680 | lkingston@ku.edu

Melissa Meyer, Creative Director
​(785) 864-4831 | melmeyer@ku.edu

Juli Pitzer, Digital Media Coordinator
(785) 864-4351 | jpitzer@ku.edu

Nathan Reed, Communications Specialist
(785) 864-6244 | njr74@ku.edu

Patty Urrutia, Website Designer
(785) 864-4351 | pattyu@ku.edu

Bill Woodard, Communications Manager
(785) 864-1680 | bwoodard@ku.edu

The Commons

Emily Ryan, Coordinator
(785) 864-6293 | eryan@ku.edu

Undergraduate Advising Center

Hannah Goetz, Academic Advisor/Coordinator
(785) 864-2833 | hgoetz@ku.edu

Brad Whitsell, Assistant Director
(785) 864-2876 | bradw@ku.edu

Undergraduate Research

John Augusto, Director
(785) 864-7351 | jaugusto@ku.edu

Undergraduate Studies

Anne Tangeman, Strategic Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-2895 | atangeman@ku.edu

University Career Center

David Gaston, Director
(785) 864-7675 | adgaston@ku.edu

Jon Sabillon, Communications Coordinator
(785) 864-3624 | sabillon@ku.edu

Katrina Zaremba, Outreach Coordinator
(785) 864-3624 | kzaremba@ku.edu

University Honors Program

Lesley Owens, Coordinator for Student Engagement
(785) 864-3248 | laowens@ku.edu

University Press of Kansas

Rebecca J. Murray, Publicity and Social Media Manager
(785) 864-9170 | rmurray@ku.edu

University Theatre

Katherine Pryor, Managing Director
(785) 864-2695 | kpryor@ku.edu

Watkins Health Services

Bernadette Rogers, Administrative Specialist
(785) 864-9570 | boonie@ku.edu

Julie Faust, Marketing Coordinator
(785) 864-6505 | jrfaust@ku.edu

Working Group for Community Health and Development

Christina Holt, Associate Director for Community Tool Box Services
(785) 864-0533 | chh@ku.edu

 

 


Some aspects of English improve reading for students’ w/hearing disabilities https://t.co/2rolTHSdSE #KUcommunities https://t.co/RG8Jhx2jkX


KU Today
Internationally recognized programs
Millions in grants and contracts for research
Generous financial support for students
Research projects that stretch to Antarctica, Greenland, and numerous points in between
Birthplace and home of Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology
A thriving field program that sends undergraduate and graduate students throughout the world
Industry recruiters who visit annually to hire KU Geology's graduating students