Jayhawks in the Statehouse

The Kansas Legislature includes the following lawmakers who are KU graduates.


Sen. Marci Francisco, a’73, a’77, Lawrence (District 2)

Sen. Patricia Pettey, d’68, g’74, Kansas City (District 6)

Sen. Caryn Tyson, g’07, Parker (District 12)

House of Representatives

Rep. John Carmichael, c’80, l’83, Wichita (District 92)

Rep. John Eplee, m’78, Atchison (District 63)

Rep. Dennis “Boog” Highberger, e’85, l’92, Lawrence (District 46)

Rep. Jo Ella Hoye, g’09, Lenexa (District 17)

Rep. Fred Patton, l’00, Topeka, (District 50)

Rep. Mark Samsel, l’10, Wellsville (District 5)

Rep. Paul Waggoner, b’78, Hutchinson (District 104)

Rep. Troy Waymaster, c’00, Bunker Hill (District 109)
Chair, Appropriations Committee

Rep. Valdenia Winn, d’72, PhD’94, Kansas City (District 34)

Rep. Kristey Williams, d’93, g’98, Augusta (District 77)

Rep. Kathy Wolfe Moore, s’79, s’82, Kansas City (District 36)

Rep. Brandon Woodard, c’13, Lenexa (District 30)

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today